July 11, 2017 - 12:08 am - Posted in News

Northwest Iowa — This Monday is the first day to take out papers to run for public school board positions in Iowa. The election is on Tuesday, September 12th. There are board members at each area school whose terms will be expiring this fall. For example:

Two members of Sheldon School Board have terms that will expire this fall. They are At-Large member Randy Merley, and District 1 member Susan Rensink.

At Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, the school board seats of District 2 Director Lynn Younie, District 3 Director Marne Schiphoff, and District 5 director Scott Vollink are all up for election.

In the Sibley-Ocheyedan School District, the District 1 chair held now by Tasha Bos will be up for election, as will the District 3 chair held by Tim Helmers and the District 4 chair, held by Tracy Van Diepen.

In the Harris-Lake Park School District, Mike Bosma’s District 2 position is up for election, as is Tim Harmon’s district 4 position.

Two school board members’ terms are also expiring at George-Little Rock — those of District 2 Director Wade Netten and District 3 Director Ryan Klingenberg.

Since it’s early in the filing period, it’s not known yet which school board members will file for re-election.

For the most part, school board members serve four-year terms. The deadline for filing papers is August 3rd, and paperwork can be obtained from the county auditor’s office, each school office, and on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

This entry was posted on Tuesday, July 11th, 2017 at 12:08 am and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.