May 9, 2022 - 4:14 pm - Posted in News

Northwest Iowa — Sample ballots are now available for the June 7th primary election. Find a link to yours below.

In our area, for the new House District 3, Thomas Jeneary of Le Mars was the only Republican to file. District 3 covers southern portions of Sioux County and northern portions of Plymouth County. No Democrats filed. For the new House District 4: Skyler Wheeler is currently from Orange City which is not in the district, but has said he and his family are moving to Sioux Center or Hull. The other GOP candidate to file is Kendal Zylstra of Larchwood. No Democrats filed. The new District 4 is made up of all of Lyon County and the northern part of Sioux County, including all of Sioux Center and the extreme western part of Sheldon lying in Sioux County. For the new House District 5, your GOP candidates will be Dennis Bush of Cherokee, Zachary Dieken of Granville, and Thomas Kuiper of Sibley. No Democrats filed for that seat either.

For the State Senate, Senator Jeff Taylor will not need to run for his District 2 seat, as he was elected in 2020 and does not face another incumbent in the newly-redistricted District 2. Some of his area is at this time being represented by Senator Jim Carlin of Sioux City, who is challenging U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley for his seat in D.C. The new District 2 is made up of all of Lyon and Sioux counties and portions of northern Plymouth County.

The other State Senate District in our area is Senate District 3, where Lynn Evans of Auriela is taking on Anthony LaBruna of Storm Lake for the GOP nomination. District 3 is made up of all of Osceola and O’Brien counties and portions of Clay, Buena Vista, and Cherokee counties. No Democrats filed for the seat.

Senator Dave Rowley and Representative John Wills, both of Spirit Lake, who both serve portions of our area now, will not serve any of our four counties next year, as while they haven’t moved, due to redistricting, they will no longer live in this area’s districts. Both will run for the seats in the districts that now include Spirit Lake.

Republican incumbent Governor Kim Reynolds and Democratic challenger Deidre DeJear of Des Moines are the only two candidates listed for governor, so both will run unopposed in this primary. In the U.S. Senate race, incumbent Chuck Grassley and Jim Carlin of Sioux City are listed for the Republican Primary ballot. The list shows three candidates for the Democratic Party’s U.S. Senate Primary — Abby Finkenauer of Cedar Rapids, Michael Franken of Sioux City, and Glenn Hurst of Minden.

In other statewide races, Democratic Primary voters will decide whether Clinton County Auditor Eric Van Lancker or Linn County Auditor Joel Miller will face Republican Secretary of State Paul Pate in November. The other four statewide races for ag secretary, attorney general, state auditor, and state treasurer appear set for the General Election ballot.

Ag Secretary Mike Naig, a Republican, will face Democrat John Norwood of West Des Moines. Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller will face Republican Brenna Byrd of Dexter. State Auditor Rob Sand, a Democrat, will face Republican Mary Ann Hanusa of Council Bluffs. State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, a Democrat, will face Republican Roby Smith of Davenport. But all of these candidates will be unopposed in the primary.

Republican Congressman Randy Feenstra is seeking a second term in the U.S. House (District 4) and he will be unopposed in the primary. One person is on the Democratic ballot for 4th District U.S. House. He is Ryan Melton from Nevada, Iowa.

Absentee ballots are not yet available. They will start being sent out and be available to vote in person at auditors’ offices on Wednesday, May 18th. The deadline for absentee ballots to be requested by mail and for voter pre-registration is Monday, May 23rd.

· O’Brien County Sample Ballots
· Sioux County Sample Ballots
· Lyon County Sample Ballots
· Osceola County Sample Ballots

This entry was posted on Monday, May 9th, 2022 at 4:14 pm and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.